life stories

the center of the universe is the brain

Turning Over a New ____

LeafHave you ever tried explaining a colloquialism to someone from another country? Sometimes even regional phrases can be baffling. As I contemplate the many changes taking place in my life, saying I’m turning over a new leaf is a grave understatement. Understanding that the phrase originates with the concept of turning the page of a book, I could demonstrate that to someone who does not speak English and they would probably understand. Realistically though, I’m slamming the book shut and opening a new one. And it’s blank.

So right now I’m choosing to think of this process more as a leaf lazing away the summer as I hang out on a beautiful elm tree. And come the autumn, I will ride a breeze to the ground. I will float and land, gently grounded as I become part of the new soil.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

