life stories

the center of the universe is the brain

The Shit Happens Life

The other night I experienced a “straw that broke the camel’s back” moment. In and of itself, that moment is absurd in its modernity and in the level of my dependence on technology. The battery on my Kindle is low and is demanding to be charged. But the cord is missing.

Battling a migraine and making every effort to take care of myself, I tried to go to bed early with a cup of tea and a book. I couldn’t read my book because I couldn’t plug it in. I spent an hour searching the house. I know it’s here but I never found it.

I cried and screamed, all the while knowing my meltdown didn’t really have anything to do with the missing Kindle cord.

In times of challenge and loss people are fond of saying, “It’s the little things in life that matter.” That thought is utterly misguided.

The big things in life are what matter. Relationships, health, hobbies, work, learning… the big things that provide a level of ease and comfort in life. Pay attention to the big things. Nurture them and be grateful for them. The little things are just added sparkle.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

