life stories

the center of the universe is the brain

Indoor Person’s Garden

For many years, until I moved into a sunless basement apartmen, I raised a variety of houseplants. Many of them were unusual and fascinating. But the cheap apartment won over a hobby I hadn’t really thought about; it was simply something I did.

Then I had a sunny apartment and a few plants but a kitty came to live with me who preferred that the plants be dead. He won.

Still I didn’t give much thought to this hobby. I’ve never been a gardener per se. I hate bugs and I hate being hot. Indoor plants on the other hand, add so much to a space – a softness and sense of nurturing – without the bugs and many times without the heat.

But there are kitties to be reckoned with. My first cat, Arcadio, past away last fall so one might expect my home to be rather jungle-like by now. No, kitties rule and Ophelia joined us in February. She immediately started chewing on the lucky bamboo.

Today is the first day I’ve ever really dedicated any thought to my passion for plants. It was as I filled four planters with various annuals that it hit me how good it feels to place the roots in the soil; make sure they have enough space and water. Can’t do much about the sun.

They add so much more to my home than the investment I put into them in terms of money and effort. All summer long, they’ll bloom and smile regardless of what sort of day I’ve had. It’s a neutral hobby. I don’t have to DO anything beyond fill and pour the watering can. I don’t have to rely on steady hands or patience, having the right materials on hand or waiting for the right weather.

One thing is for certain, I won’t forget this joy or ever again take it for granted. And never again will I live in a sunless basement apartment.

Flowers1

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

